Skip to content
Free Excel Tutorials
  • Home
  • Excel For Beginners
  • Excel Intermediate
  • Advanced Excel For Experts

Data Analysis

  • Conditional Formatting New Rule with Formulas in Excel
  • Managing Conditional Formatting Rules in Excel
  • How to calculate average last N values in a table in Excel
  • Conflicting Multiple Conditional Formatting Rules in Excel
  • How To Create Frequency Distribution in Excel

References

  • Find closest match in Excel
  • How to get address of first cell in range in Excel
  • How to use Excel MATCH Function
  • Offset in Excel
  • Approximate match with multiple criteria in Excel

Data Validations

  • Excel Data validation allow weekday only
  • Excel Data validation date in next 30 days
  • Prevent invalid data entering in specific cells
  • Excel Data validation specific characters only
  • Excel Data validation number multiple 100

How to create Gauge Chart in Excel

by

This chapter illustrates how create a Gauge Chart.

A gauge chart (or speedometer chart) combines a Doughnut chart and a Pie chart in a single chart.

This is what the spreadsheet looks like.

 To create a gauge chart, execute the following steps.

1. Select the range H2:I6.

Note: the Donut series has 4 data points and the Pie series has 3 data points.

2. On the Insert tab, in the Charts group, click the Combo symbol.

3. Click Create Custom Combo Chart.

The Insert Chart dialog box appears.

4. For the Donut series, choose Doughnut (fourth option under Pie) as the chart type.

5. For the Pie series, choose Pie as the chart type.

6. Plot the Pie series on the secondary axis.

7. Click OK.

8. Remove the chart title and the legend.

9. Select the chart. On the Format tab, in the Current Selection group, select the Pie series.

10. On the Format tab, in the Current Selection group, click Format Selection and change the angle of the first slice to 270 degrees.

11. Use the ← and → keys to select a single data point. On the Format tab, in the Shape Styles group, change the Shape Fill of each point. Point 1 = No Fill, point 2 = black and point 3 = No Fill.

Result:

Explanation: the Pie chart is nothing more than a transparent slice of 75 points, a black slice of 1 point (the needle) and a transparent slice of 124 points.

12. Repeat steps 9 to 11 for the Donut series. Point 1 = red, point 2 = yellow, point 3 = green and point 4 = No Fill.

Result:

13. Select the chart. On the Format tab, in the Current Selection group, select the Chart Area. In the Shape Styles group, change the Shape Fill to No fill and the Shape Outline to No Outline.

14. Use the Spin Button to change the value in cell I3 from 75 to 76. The Pie chart changes to a transparent slice of 76 points, a black slice of 1 point (the needle), and a transparent slice of 200 – 1 – 76 = 123 points. The formula in cell I5 ensures that the 3 slices sum up to 200 points.

Post navigation

Previous Post:

VLOOKUP without #N/A error in Excel

Next Post:

Manipulating text strings using Left, Mid, Right, Len, Substitute in Excel

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Learn Basic Excel

Ribbon
Workbook
Worksheets
Format Cells
Find & Select
Sort & Filter
Templates
Print
Share
Protect
Keyboard Shortcuts

Categories

  • Charts
  • Data Analysis
  • Data Validation
  • Excel Functions
    • Cube Functions
    • Database Functions
    • Date and Time Functions
    • Engineering Functions
    • Financial Functions
    • Information Functions
    • Logical Functions
    • Lookup and Reference Functions
    • Math and Trig Functions
    • Statistical Functions
    • Text Functions
    • Web Functions
  • Excel VBA
  • Excel Video Tutorials
  • Formatting
  • Grouping
  • Others

Logical Functions

  • SWITCH function: Description, Usage, Syntax, Examples and Explanation
  • IF with boolean logic in Excel
  • How to use Excel OR Function
  • AND function: Description, Usage, Syntax, Examples and Explanation
  • Return blank if in Excel

Date Time

  • WORKDAY function: Description, Usage, Syntax, Examples and Explanation
  • DATE function: Description, Usage, Syntax, Examples and Explanation
  • Convert decimal seconds to Excel time
  • How to calculate future date say 6 months ahead in Excel
  • Assign points based on late time in Excel

Grouping

  • Map text to numbers in Excel
  • Group times into unequal buckets in Excel
  • Group numbers with VLOOKUP in Excel
  • Group numbers at uneven intervals in Excel
  • Map inputs to arbitrary values in Excel

General

  • Find Most Frequently Occurring Word in Excel Worksheet
  • Create dynamic workbook reference to another workbook in Excel
  • How to fill cell ranges with random number from fixed set of options in Excel
  • Freeze and Unfreeze Panes in Excel
  • How to calculate decrease by percentage in Excel
© 2026 xlsoffice . All Right Reserved. | Teal Smiles | Abbreviations And Their Meaning