Skip to content
Free Excel Tutorials
  • Home
  • Excel For Beginners
  • Excel Intermediate
  • Advanced Excel For Experts

Data Analysis

  • How to add Trendline to a chart in Excel
  • How to do a t-Test in Excel?
  • How to combine 2 or more chart types in a single chart in Excel
  • Conflicting Multiple Conditional Formatting Rules in Excel
  • How To Load Analysis ToolPak in Excel

References

  • Two-way lookup with VLOOKUP in Excel
  • How to use Excel INDIRECT Function
  • How to reference named range different sheet in Excel
  • How to use Excel ROWS Function
  • Approximate match with multiple criteria in Excel

Data Validations

  • Excel Data validation allow weekday only
  • Data validation must not exist in list
  • Excel Data validation exists in list
  • How To Create Drop-down List in Excel
  • Excel Data validation number multiple 100

Function Keys f1 – f12 in excel — Examples

by

Function keys allow you to do things with your keyboard instead of your mouse to increase your speed. The function keys ranges from F1 | F2 | F3 | F4 | F5 | F6 | F7 | F8 | F9 | F10 | F11 | F12.

Examples and Uses  of  Excel F1 – F12 Function keys

F1

Opens Excel Help.

F2

Moves the insertion point to the end of the contents of the active cell. For example, select cell B6 below and press F2.

Note: turn off Allow editing directly in cells (File, Options, Advanced, Editing Options) and pressing F2 will move the insertion point to the formula bar.

F3

Displays the Paste Name dialog box. For example, select cell E2 below, type =SUM(, press F3 and select a name.

Note: of course, first create at least one named range.

F4

Cycles through all 4 types of cell references (absolute, mixed reference (2x) and relative). For example, select cell B5 below, click in the formula bar, move the insertion point in or to the right of G2, and press F4.

Note: if you are not editing a cell, F4 repeats the last action, if possible.

F5

Displays the Go To dialog box. For example, to select cell C15, in the Reference box, type C15, and click OK.

Note: you can also select named ranges, or click Special to quickly select all cells with formulas, comments, conditional formatting, constants, data validation, etc.

F6

Moves to the next pane in a worksheet that has been split.

F7

Displays the Spelling dialog box (the same as clicking Spelling on the Review tab).

F8

Turns on/off Extend mode. If Extend mode is turned on, select cell A1 and press → and ↓ a few times.

Note: if Extend mode is turned off, hold down SHIFT and press → and ↓ a few times.

F9

Calculates the workbook. By default, any time you change a value, Excel automatically calculates the workbook. Turn on Manual calculation (on the Formulas tab, in the Calculation group, click Calculations Options, Manual) and change the value in cell A1 from 5 to 6.

Press F9.

Note: if you are editing a cell, F9 replaces a formula with its own result.

F10

Shows the key tips (the same as pressing ALT). Key Tips allow you to quickly perform any task available on the Ribbon without using the mouse.

F11

Creates a chart sheet of a selected range.

F12

Brings up the Save As dialog box.

 

Note: to change the default file location, on the File tab, click Options, Save.

Post navigation

Previous Post:

VLOOKUP without #N/A error in Excel

Next Post:

Manipulating text strings using Left, Mid, Right, Len, Substitute in Excel

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Learn Basic Excel

Ribbon
Workbook
Worksheets
Format Cells
Find & Select
Sort & Filter
Templates
Print
Share
Protect
Keyboard Shortcuts

Categories

  • Charts
  • Data Analysis
  • Data Validation
  • Excel Functions
    • Cube Functions
    • Database Functions
    • Date and Time Functions
    • Engineering Functions
    • Financial Functions
    • Information Functions
    • Logical Functions
    • Lookup and Reference Functions
    • Math and Trig Functions
    • Statistical Functions
    • Text Functions
    • Web Functions
  • Excel VBA
  • Excel Video Tutorials
  • Formatting
  • Grouping
  • Others

Logical Functions

  • How to use Excel NOT Function
  • FALSE function: Description, Usage, Syntax, Examples and Explanation
  • How to use IFS function in Excel
  • IFNA function: Description, Usage, Syntax, Examples and Explanation
  • IF with wildcards in Excel

Date Time

  • Display Date is same month in Excel
  • Sum race time splits in Excel
  • Get work hours between dates custom schedule in Excel
  • WORKDAY function: Description, Usage, Syntax, Examples and Explanation
  • How to get same date next year or previous year in Excel

Grouping

  • How to randomly assign people to groups in Excel
  • Map inputs to arbitrary values in Excel
  • Categorize text with keywords in Excel
  • Group numbers with VLOOKUP in Excel
  • How to randomly assign data to groups in Excel

General

  • Lock Cells in a Worksheet Excel
  • 3D SUMIF for multiple worksheets in Excel
  • Index and match on multiple columns in Excel
  • Split Cell Content Using Text to Columns in Excel
  • How to generate random number weighted probability in Excel
© 2026 xlsoffice . All Right Reserved. | Teal Smiles | Abbreviations And Their Meaning