Skip to content
Free Excel Tutorials
  • Home
  • Excel For Beginners
  • Excel Intermediate
  • Advanced Excel For Experts

Data Analysis

  • Error Bars in Excel
  • Excel Line Chart
  • How to Create Area Chart in Excel
  • How to do a t-Test in Excel?
  • Reverse List in Excel

References

  • MATCH function: Description, Usage, Syntax, Examples and Explanation
  • How to use Excel LOOKUP Function
  • How to get first row number in range in Excel
  • Two-column Lookup in Excel
  • How to get first column number in range in Excel

Data Validations

  • Data validation must not exist in list
  • Excel Data validation don’t exceed total
  • How To Create Drop-down List in Excel
  • Excel Data validation only dates between
  • Excel Data validation specific characters only

How to create Gauge Chart in Excel

by

This chapter illustrates how create a Gauge Chart.

A gauge chart (or speedometer chart) combines a Doughnut chart and a Pie chart in a single chart.

This is what the spreadsheet looks like.

 To create a gauge chart, execute the following steps.

1. Select the range H2:I6.

Note: the Donut series has 4 data points and the Pie series has 3 data points.

2. On the Insert tab, in the Charts group, click the Combo symbol.

3. Click Create Custom Combo Chart.

The Insert Chart dialog box appears.

4. For the Donut series, choose Doughnut (fourth option under Pie) as the chart type.

5. For the Pie series, choose Pie as the chart type.

6. Plot the Pie series on the secondary axis.

7. Click OK.

8. Remove the chart title and the legend.

9. Select the chart. On the Format tab, in the Current Selection group, select the Pie series.

10. On the Format tab, in the Current Selection group, click Format Selection and change the angle of the first slice to 270 degrees.

11. Use the ← and → keys to select a single data point. On the Format tab, in the Shape Styles group, change the Shape Fill of each point. Point 1 = No Fill, point 2 = black and point 3 = No Fill.

Result:

Explanation: the Pie chart is nothing more than a transparent slice of 75 points, a black slice of 1 point (the needle) and a transparent slice of 124 points.

12. Repeat steps 9 to 11 for the Donut series. Point 1 = red, point 2 = yellow, point 3 = green and point 4 = No Fill.

Result:

13. Select the chart. On the Format tab, in the Current Selection group, select the Chart Area. In the Shape Styles group, change the Shape Fill to No fill and the Shape Outline to No Outline.

14. Use the Spin Button to change the value in cell I3 from 75 to 76. The Pie chart changes to a transparent slice of 76 points, a black slice of 1 point (the needle), and a transparent slice of 200 – 1 – 76 = 123 points. The formula in cell I5 ensures that the 3 slices sum up to 200 points.

Post navigation

Previous Post:

VLOOKUP without #N/A error in Excel

Next Post:

Manipulating text strings using Left, Mid, Right, Len, Substitute in Excel

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Learn Basic Excel

Ribbon
Workbook
Worksheets
Format Cells
Find & Select
Sort & Filter
Templates
Print
Share
Protect
Keyboard Shortcuts

Categories

  • Charts
  • Data Analysis
  • Data Validation
  • Excel Functions
    • Cube Functions
    • Database Functions
    • Date and Time Functions
    • Engineering Functions
    • Financial Functions
    • Information Functions
    • Logical Functions
    • Lookup and Reference Functions
    • Math and Trig Functions
    • Statistical Functions
    • Text Functions
    • Web Functions
  • Excel VBA
  • Excel Video Tutorials
  • Formatting
  • Grouping
  • Others

Logical Functions

  • OR function: Description, Usage, Syntax, Examples and Explanation
  • SWITCH function: Description, Usage, Syntax, Examples and Explanation
  • Complete List of Excel Logical Functions, References and Examples
  • How to use Excel XOR Function
  • IFERROR function: Description, Usage, Syntax, Examples and Explanation

Date Time

  • Basic Overtime Calculation Formula in Excel
  • How to calculate nth day of year in Excel
  • Calculate total hours that fall between two times in Excel
  • YEARFRAC function: Description, Usage, Syntax, Examples and Explanation
  • Pad week numbers with zeros in Excel

Grouping

  • Group numbers at uneven intervals in Excel
  • Group arbitrary text values in Excel
  • Group times into 3 hour buckets in Excel
  • Group numbers with VLOOKUP in Excel
  • Calculate conditional mode with criteria in Excel

General

  • How to choose page/paper size in Excel before Printing
  • How to test a range for numbers in Excel
  • How to add sequential row numbers to a set of data in Excel
  • How to calculate percent change in Excel
  • How to get Excel workbook path only
© 2026 xlsoffice . All Right Reserved. | Teal Smiles | Abbreviations And Their Meaning