Skip to content
Free Excel Tutorials
  • Home
  • Excel For Beginners
  • Excel Intermediate
  • Advanced Excel For Experts

Data Analysis

  • How to do a t-Test in Excel?
  • Calculate Conditional Percentile ‘IF’ in table in Excel
  • Filter Data Based on Date in Excel
  • Subtotal function in Excel
  • How To Perform and Interpret Regression Analysis in Excel

References

  • LOOKUP function: Description, Usage, Syntax, Examples and Explanation
  • INDEX function: Description, Usage, Syntax, Examples and Explanation
  • Perform case-sensitive Lookup in Excel
  • How to use Excel VLOOKUP Function
  • How to get first row number in range in Excel

Data Validations

  • Prevent invalid data entering in specific cells
  • Excel Data validation unique values only
  • Data validation must not exist in list
  • Excel Data validation only dates between
  • Excel Data validation don’t exceed total

Everything about Charts in Excel

by

Learn all about how to Create a Chart, Change Chart Type, Switch Row/Column , Legend Position and  Data Labels

A simple chart helps to understand voluminous data in Excel than a sheet full of numbers.

Create a Chart

To create a line chart, execute the following steps.

1. Select the range A1:D7.

2. On the Insert tab, in the Charts group, click the Line symbol.

3. Click Line with Markers.

Result:

Note: enter a title by clicking on Chart Title. For example, Wildlife Population.

Change Chart Type

You can easily change to a different type of chart at any time.

1. Select the chart.

2. On the Design tab, in the Type group, click Change Chart Type.

3. On the left side, click Column.

4. Click OK.

Result:

Switch Row/Column

If you want to display the animals (instead of the months) on the horizontal axis, execute the following steps.

1. Select the chart.

2. On the Design tab, in the Data group, click Switch Row/Column.

Result:

Legend Position

To move the legend to the right side of the chart, execute the following steps.

1. Select the chart.

2. Click the + button on the right side of the chart, click the arrow next to Legend and click Right.

Result:

Data Labels

You can use data labels to focus your readers’ attention on a single data series or data point.

1. Select the chart.

2. Click a green bar to select the Jun data series.

3. Use your arrow keys to select the population of Dolphins in June (tiny green bar).

4. Click the + button on the right side of the chart and click the check box next to Data Labels.

Result:

Post navigation

Previous Post:

VLOOKUP without #N/A error in Excel

Next Post:

Manipulating text strings using Left, Mid, Right, Len, Substitute in Excel

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Learn Basic Excel

Ribbon
Workbook
Worksheets
Format Cells
Find & Select
Sort & Filter
Templates
Print
Share
Protect
Keyboard Shortcuts

Categories

  • Charts
  • Data Analysis
  • Data Validation
  • Excel Functions
    • Cube Functions
    • Database Functions
    • Date and Time Functions
    • Engineering Functions
    • Financial Functions
    • Information Functions
    • Logical Functions
    • Lookup and Reference Functions
    • Math and Trig Functions
    • Statistical Functions
    • Text Functions
    • Web Functions
  • Excel VBA
  • Excel Video Tutorials
  • Formatting
  • Grouping
  • Others

Logical Functions

  • How to return blank in place of #DIV/0! error in Excel
  • SWITCH function: Description, Usage, Syntax, Examples and Explanation
  • TRUE function: Description, Usage, Syntax, Examples and Explanation
  • Not Equal To ‘<>‘ operator in Excel
  • XOR function: Description, Usage, Syntax, Examples and Explanation

Date Time

  • Get age from birthday in Excel
  • Dynamic date list in Excel
  • Get days, months, and years between dates in Excel
  • Display Days in month in Excel
  • NOW function: Description, Usage, Syntax, Examples and Explanation

Grouping

  • Map inputs to arbitrary values in Excel
  • Calculate conditional mode with criteria in Excel
  • Map text to numbers in Excel
  • How to randomly assign data to groups in Excel
  • Group numbers with VLOOKUP in Excel

General

  • How to set or clear a print area in Excel Worksheet
  • 44 Practical Excel IF function Examples
  • Sum by group in Excel
  • Print Excel Sheet In Landscape Or Portrait
  • How to calculate profit margin percentage in Excel
© 2026 xlsoffice . All Right Reserved. | Teal Smiles | Abbreviations And Their Meaning